Nutraveris

Category 'Epidemiology'

Tuesday, November 27, 2012
Category : Epidemiology, CLINICAL EVIDENCE | Author : experts | Comment : No Comments
Tags: , ,

Lutein and zeaxanthine, carotenoids that form macular pigment and well known for their benefit on eyes seems to be also beneficial for brain.

This is what is shown by this review based on epidemiological data and a 4-mo, double-blinded, placebo-controlled trial in older women that involved lutein supplementation (12 mg/d), alone or in combination with DHA (800 mg/d). Memory scores and rate of learning improved significantly in the combined-treatment group, who also showed a trend toward more efficient learning.

Find more information in Nutraveris on line.

Reference: Johnson EJ. A possible role for lutein and zeaxanthin in cognitive function in the elderly. Am J Clin Nutr. 2012 Oct 10.

Tuesday, March 6, 2012
Category : News, Epidemiology, food safety | Author : experts | Comment : No Comments
Tags: , ,

There was not even one death caused by a vitamin supplement in 2010, according to the most recent information collected by the U.S. National Poison Data System. The new annual report of the American Association of Poison Control Centers shows zero deaths from multiple vitamins; zero deaths from any of the B vitamins; zero deaths from vitamins A, C, D, or E; and zero deaths from any other vitamin.
Additionally, there were no deaths whatsoever from any amino acid or dietary mineral supplement.

Well over half of the U.S. population takes daily nutritional supplements. Even if each of those people took only one single tablet daily, that makes 165,000,000 individual doses per day, for a total of over 60 billion doses annually. Since many persons take far more than just one single vitamin or mineral tablet, actual consumption is considerably higher, and the safety of nutritional supplements is all the more remarkable.

Over 60 billion doses of vitamin and mineral supplements per year in the USA, and not a single fatality. Not one.

If vitamin and mineral supplements are allegedly so “dangerous,” as the FDA and news media so often claim, then where are the proofs?

Reference: Bronstein AC, Spyker DA, Cantilena LR Jr, Green JL, Rumack BH, Dart RC. 2010 Annual Report of the American Association of Poison Control Centers’ National Poison Data System (NPDS): 28th Annual Report

.

Tuesday, September 20, 2011
Category : Epidemiology, INGREDIENTS | Author : experts | Comment : No Comments
Tags: , , ,

A recent study conducted in 37038 women has assessed the relationship between the consumption of dairy products during adolescence and the risk of developing type 2 diabetes at adulthood. Based on a food-frequency questionnaire about their diet during high school, followed by a medical surveillance during 7 years, this study shows a positive effect of dairy products consumption during adolescence and the risk of developing type 2 diabetes subsequently. Effectively, the results of the study show that the risk of type 2 diabetes is 38% higher in women with the lower intake of dairy products compared with women with the higher intake of dairy products.
Even if the mechanisms underlying this protective effect are unknown, the interest of dairy products for health is one more time emphasized.

Reference : Malik V.S., Sun Q. , van Dam R.M., Rimm E.B., Willett W.C., Rosner B., and Hu F.B. “Adolescent dairy product consumption and risk of type 2 diabetes in middle-aged women” Am J Clin Nutr September 2011 94: 854-861

Thursday, February 10, 2011
Category : CONVICTIONS, Epidemiology | Author : experts | Comment : No Comments
Tags: , , , ,

Eight fruits and vegetables a day!

The results of the large European observational study EPIC (European Prospective Investigation into Cancer and Nutrition), the intake of 8 fruits and vegetables a day is associated with a reduced risk of mortality from ischemic heart disease.

In this study, more than 300,000 volunteers from eight European countries, without history of myocardial infarction or stroke were followed for an average of 8.4 years. A total of 1,636 deaths from ischemic heart disease have been reported. Volunteers consuming at least 8 servings (80g each) of fruits and vegetables a day had a 22% significant lower risk of fatal ischaemic heart disease compared with those consuming less than 3 servings per day.

Although the cause and effect relationship is not proven, and the mechanisms of action of fruits and vegetables are not clear, these initial observations encouraged seriously to consider these foods.

Reference : Crowe FL, Roddam AW, Key TJ, Appleby PN, Overvad K, Jakobsen MU, Tjønneland A, Hansen L, Boeing H, Weikert C, Linseisen J, Kaaks R, Trichopoulou A, Misirli G, Lagiou P, Sacerdote C, Pala V, Palli D, Tumino R, Panico S, Bueno-de-Mesquita HB, Boer J, van Gils CH, Beulens JW, Barricarte A, Rodríguez L, Larrañaga N, Sánchez MJ, Tormo MJ, Buckland G, Lund E, Hedblad B, Melander O, Jansson JH, Wennberg P, Wareham NJ, Slimani N, Romieu I, Jenab M, Danesh J, Gallo V, Norat T, Riboli E; European Prospective Investigation into Cancer and Nutrition (EPIC)-Heart Study Collaborators, “Fruit and vegetable intake and mortality from ischaemic heart disease: results from the European Prospective Investigation into Cancer and Nutrition (EPIC)-Heart study”, Eur Heart J. 2011 Jan 18. [Epub ahead of print]

Thursday, December 9, 2010
Category : Epidemiology | Author : experts | Comment : No Comments
Tags: , , , , ,

In the “Epic-Panacea” cohort study, conducted on 103,455 men and 270,348 women aged 25 to 70 years who were recruited between 1992 and 2000 in 10 European countries, researchers from the UK just concluded that the total meat consumption (red, white and poultry) is associated with weight gain in men and women, and decrease in this consumption can permit to lose weight. According to the authors, with adjustment for estimated energy intake, an increase in meat intake of 250 g/d (eg, one steak at approximately 450 kcal) would lead to a 2-kg higher weight gain after 5 years.

It should be noted that meat consumption in France has fallen steadily over the last ten years.

Reference : Vergnaud AC, Norat T, Romaguera D, Mouw T, May AM, Travier N, Luan J, Wareham N, Slimani N, Rinaldi S, Couto E, Clavel-Chapelon F, Boutron-Ruault MC, Cottet V, Palli D, Agnoli C, Panico S, Tumino R, Vineis P, Agudo A, Rodriguez L, Sanchez MJ, Amiano P, Barricarte A, Huerta JM, Key TJ, Spencer EA, Bueno-de-Mesquita B, Büchner FL, Orfanos P, Naska A, Trichopoulou A, Rohrmann S, Hermann S, Boeing H, Buijsse B, Johansson I, Hellstrom V, Manjer J, Wirfält E, Jakobsen MU, Overvad K, Tjonneland A, Halkjaer J, Lund E, Braaten T, Engeset D, Odysseos A, Riboli E, Peeters PH, “Meat consumption and prospective weight change in participants of the EPIC-PANACEA study”, Am J Clin Nutr. 2010 Aug;92(2):398-407. Am J Clin Nutr. 2010 Nov;92(5):1274-5; author reply 1275-6.

Nutraveris

Catégorie 'Epidémiologie'

mardi 27 novembre 2012

Lutéine et zéaxanthine, intérêt également pour la cognition

Lutéine et zéaxanthine, deux caroténoïdes composant le pigment maculaire largement connus pour leur intérêt sur la vision semble également présenter un intérêt pour le cerveau et les fonctions cognitives.

C’est en tout cas ce que met en évidence une revue s’appuyant sur les données épidémiologiques ainsi qu’une étude de 4 mois en double-aveugle contre placebo menée chez des femmes âgées. Celles-ci ont reçu de la lutéine (12 mg/j), seule ou en association avec du DHA (800 mg/j). Les scores de la mémoire et de l’apprentissage ont augmenté significativement dans le groupe lutéine+DHA.

Retrouver toute l’information dans Nutraveris on line.

Référence: Johnson EJ. A possible role for lutein and zeaxanthin in cognitive function in the elderly. Am J Clin Nutr. 2012 Oct 10.

mardi 6 mars 2012

La plus importante base de données Américaine confirme la sécurité d’emploi des suppléments

Il n’y a pas eu un seul décès causé par un supplément de vitamine en 2010, selon l’information la plus récente recueillie par le U.S. National Poison Data System. Le nouveau rapport annuel de l’American Association of Poison Control Centers ne montre aucun décès dus à des complexes de vitamines, zéro décès due à l’une des vitamines B, zéro décès due à la vitamine A, C, D ou E, et zéro décès dus à toute autre vitamine.
En outre, aucun décès n’a été lié à un acide aminé ou un minéral dans un complément alimentaire.

Plus de la moitié de la population des États-Unis prend des suppléments nutritionnels quotidiennement. Même si chaque américain ne consommait qu’un seul comprimé par jour, cela représenterait 165.000.000 de doses individuelles par jour, pour un total de plus de 60 milliards de doses par an. Puisque de nombreuses personnes consomment beaucoup plus qu’un seul comprimé de vitamine ou minéral par jour, la consommation réelle est considérablement plus élevée, et la sécurité des suppléments nutritionnels est d’autant plus remarquable.

Plus de 60 milliards de doses de suppléments de vitamines et minéraux sont consommés par an aux Etats-Unis, et pas un seul décès. Pas un seul.

Si les suppléments de vitamines et minéraux sont prétendument si «dangereux», comme la FDA et les médias le communiquent si souvent, alors où sont les preuves ?

Référence : Bronstein AC, Spyker DA, Cantilena LR Jr, Green JL, Rumack BH, Dart RC. 2010 Annual Report of the American Association of Poison Control Centers’ National Poison Data System (NPDS): 28th Annual Report.

mardi 20 septembre 2011

Produits laitiers et risque de développement du diabète de type 2

Une étude récente menée sur 37038 femmes a évalué la relation entre la consommation de produits laitiers pendant l’adolescence et le risque de développer un diabète de type 2 à l’âge adulte. Basé sur un questionnaire nutritionnel et médical réalisé à lors de l’adolescence, puis sur un suivi médical de 7 ans, cette étude montre un effet positif de la consommation de produit laitiers à l’adolescence sur le risque de développer un diabète de type 2 ultérieurement. En effet, les résultats montrent que le risque de développer un diabète de type 2 est 38% plus élevé chez les femmes ayant le plus faible apport de produits laitiers à l’adolescence en comparaison de celles ayant le plus fort apport de produits laitiers.
Bien que les mécanismes sous-jacents à cet effet protecteur ne soient pas connus, l’intérêt des produits laitiers en termes de santé est une nouvelle fois mis en avant.

Référence : Malik V.S., Sun Q. , van Dam R.M., Rimm E.B., Willett W.C., Rosner B., and Hu F.B. “Adolescent dairy product consumption and risk of type 2 diabetes in middle-aged women” Am J Clin Nutr September 2011 94: 854-861

jeudi 10 février 2011

Huit fruits et légumes par jour !

Selon les résultats de la grande étude observationnelle européenne EPIC (European Prospective Investigation into Cancer and Nutrition), la consommation de 8 fruits et légumes par jour est associée à une réduction du risque de mortalité par maladie cardiaque ischémique.

Lors de cette étude, plus de 300 000 volontaires issus de 8 pays européens, sans antécédents d’infarctus du myocarde ni accident vasculaire cérébral ont été suivis pendant 8,4 ans en moyenne. Au total, 1636 morts par maladie cardiaque ischémique ont été rapportées. Les volontaires consommant au moins 8 portions (de 80g chacune) de fruits et légumes par jour avaient une diminution significative de 22% du risque d’accident cardio-ischémique fatal par rapport à ceux ayant une consommation inférieure à 3 portions par jour.

Bien que la relation de cause à effet n’ait pas été démontrée et que les mécanismes d’action des fruits et légumes ne soient pas clairs, ces premières observations encouragent à considérer sérieusement ces aliments.

 

Référence : Crowe FL, Roddam AW, Key TJ, Appleby PN, Overvad K, Jakobsen MU, Tjønneland A, Hansen L, Boeing H, Weikert C, Linseisen J, Kaaks R, Trichopoulou A, Misirli G, Lagiou P, Sacerdote C, Pala V, Palli D, Tumino R, Panico S, Bueno-de-Mesquita HB, Boer J, van Gils CH, Beulens JW, Barricarte A, Rodríguez L, Larrañaga N, Sánchez MJ, Tormo MJ, Buckland G, Lund E, Hedblad B, Melander O, Jansson JH, Wennberg P, Wareham NJ, Slimani N, Romieu I, Jenab M, Danesh J, Gallo V, Norat T, Riboli E; European Prospective Investigation into Cancer and Nutrition (EPIC)-Heart Study Collaborators, “Fruit and vegetable intake and mortality from ischaemic heart disease: results from the European Prospective Investigation into Cancer and Nutrition (EPIC)-Heart study”, Eur Heart J. 2011 Jan 18. [Epub ahead of print]

jeudi 9 décembre 2010

Consommation excessive de viande : une cause de surpoids ?

A partir de données de l’étude cohorte Epic-Panacea, menée des années 1992 à 2000 sur 103 455 hommes et 270 348 femmes agés de 25 à 70 ans et conduite dans 10 pays de l’Union Européenne, des chercheurs du Royaume Uni, viennent de conclure non seulement que la consommation totale de viande (rouge, blanche et volaille) est associée à la prise de poids chez les hommes et les femmes mais aussi que la diminution de cette consommation de viande peut permettre de perdre du poids. Selon les auteurs, une augmentation de la consommation de viande de 250 g / j (par exemple, un steak à environ 450 kcal) conduirait à un gain de poids supérieur à 2 kg après 5 années.

Il est à noter que la consommation de viande en France est en baisse régulière depuis une dizaine d’année.

Référence : Vergnaud AC, Norat T, Romaguera D, Mouw T, May AM, Travier N, Luan J, Wareham N, Slimani N, Rinaldi S, Couto E, Clavel-Chapelon F, Boutron-Ruault MC, Cottet V, Palli D, Agnoli C, Panico S, Tumino R, Vineis P, Agudo A, Rodriguez L, Sanchez MJ, Amiano P, Barricarte A, Huerta JM, Key TJ, Spencer EA, Bueno-de-Mesquita B, Büchner FL, Orfanos P, Naska A, Trichopoulou A, Rohrmann S, Hermann S, Boeing H, Buijsse B, Johansson I, Hellstrom V, Manjer J, Wirfält E, Jakobsen MU, Overvad K, Tjonneland A, Halkjaer J, Lund E, Braaten T, Engeset D, Odysseos A, Riboli E, Peeters PH, “Meat consumption and prospective weight change in participants of the EPIC-PANACEA study”, Am J Clin Nutr. 2010 Aug;92(2):398-407. Am J Clin Nutr. 2010 Nov;92(5):1274-5; author reply 1275-6.