Nutraveris

Category 'nutritional profiles'

Tuesday, February 14, 2012
Category : News, nutritional profiles | Author : experts | Comment : No Comments
Tags: , , , , , ,

After having provided guidance on dietary reference values (DRV) of fats, carbohydrates, fibre and water, EFSA published a scientific opinion on protein intake after extensive consultation with Member States, the scientific community and other. These DRV establish optimum intakes of nutrients in a balanced diet which when part of an overall healthy lifestyle, contribute to good health.

Indeed, EFSA has been asked by the European Commission to review and update the reference values for nutrient and energy intakes established in 1993 by the Scientific Committee on Food. In doing so EFSA is taking into account new scientific evidence and recent recommendations issued at national and at international level. This will permit to provide comprehensive nutrition guidelines, for example for food labelling and for setting public health targets in Europe.

Find these scientific opinions on the EFSA website. For more information contact our experts.

www.efsa.europa.eu

Thursday, September 1, 2011
Category : nutritional profiles | Author : experts | Comment : No Comments
Tags: , , , , ,

Kiri, La vache Kiri, Uncle Ben’s, and Thiriet have all four committed to improving the nutritional quality of their products by signing a voluntary charter to nutritional improvement.

Kiri and La vache Kiri undertake to reduce the average fat content by 5.7% and 5.6% respectively, as well as the average sodium content by 5.8% and 6.4% respectively. In addition, La vache Kiri is committed to increasing the average calcium content by 38%.
Similarly, Uncle Ben’s plans to reduce the average level of sodium from 18 to 24% for Sauces and Express products, respectively.
Finally, Thiriet committed to integrating nutrition criteria to the requirements for its suppliers. In addition, Thiriet committed to reducing by 60% in average the levels of saturated fatty acids, and to replace palm oil with other oils slightly more saturated.

While a new health and nutrition national program has just been launched, the PNNS3 (2011-2015), it is encouraging to see new businesses involved in this process.

Reference: www.sante.gouv.fr

Tuesday, July 12, 2011
Category : News, CLINICAL EVIDENCE, nutritional profiles | Author : experts | Comment : No Comments
Tags: , , , , , , ,

A randomized clinical study was performed for 18 weeks in 84 overweight subjects with metabolic syndrome, in order to determine the effects of high-protein diet and high-cereal-fiber diet on insulin sensitivity and diabetes risk.
After 6 weeks, insulin sensitivity test was done in participants by using euglycemic-hyperinsulinemic clamps. The results showed that people who ate the high-cereal-fiber diet had insulin sensitivity 25% higher than people under high-protein diet. These effects decreased after 18 weeks of diet probably because of the lack of acceptability of the high-protein diet.
This study asks the problem of too rich protein diets which can reduce insulin sensitivity and thus affect statue of people already suffering of metabolic syndrome. Dietetic diet should be controlled to avoid adverse effects on body.

References: Weickert MO, Roden M, Isken F, Hoffmann D, Nowotny P, Osterhoff M, Blaut M, Alpert C, Gögebakan O, Bumke-Vogt C, Mueller F, Machann J, Barber TM, Petzke KJ, Hierholzer J, Hornemann S, Kruse M, Illner AK, Kohl A, Loeffelholz CV, Arafat AM, Möhlig M, Pfeiffer AF. Effects of supplemented isoenergetic diets differing in cereal fiber and protein content on insulin sensitivity in overweight humans. Am J Clin Nutr. 2011;Jun 1.

Tuesday, April 12, 2011
Category : CLAIMS, nutritional profiles | Author : experts | Comment : No Comments
Tags: , , , , , , ,

The French National Academies of Medicine (ANM) and Pharmacy (ANP) have recently made known their positions regarding nutrition and health claims. Among others, ANM and ANP recommend to give up the concept of nutrient profile, to limit the number of foods eligible for a claim, and to specify advantages and disadvantages of products with claims on the labeling. In addition, the National Academies recommend to take into account the relevance, in terms of public health, of the marketing of food products with claims, and also to conduct a thorough risk-benefit analysis.

 Reference : http://www.acadpharm.org

Thursday, February 17, 2011
Category : nutritional profiles | Author : experts | Comment : No Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Three new signatory companies have undertaken to improve the nutritional quality of some of their products: the French federation of porkbutchers industrialists, meat processors (FICT), Kellog’s, and Cereal Partners France (CPF).

Kellog’s France commitments include a 9% reduction in simple sugars content, a 15.8% reduction in sodium content, and a 25.6% increase in fiber content in average by 2014 for breakfast cereals.

As for the CPF, it has pledged to reduce the level of simple sugars by 12% on average without compensation by adding fat, and to increase whole grain content of 5% to 16% by 2012, as well as to reduce by 17% in average the sodium level for Nestlé breakfast’s cereals.

Finally, the FICT committed to developing a strategy to further reduce sodium levels (at least 5%) and fat (at least 5%) of the main cooked pork meats produced in France by changing their composition rules to lead eventually to a modification of the code of practice. The profession is also committed to promoting nutrition labeling.

Reference : http://www.sante.gouv.fr/htm/pointsur/nutrition/actions8.htm

Nutraveris

Catégorie 'profils nutritionnels'

mardi 14 février 2012

Nouvelle recommandation nutritionnelle pour l’Europe : Publication des Valeurs Nutritionnelles de Référence pour les protéines

Après avoir publié ses avis sur les valeurs nutritionnelles de référence (VNR) pour les glucides, les fibres alimentaires, les matières grasses et l’eau, l’EFSA vient désormais de publier un avis sur les apports en proteines, après des consultations approfondies avec les États-membres, la communauté scientifique ainsi que d’autres parties prenantes. Ces valeurs nutritionnelles de référence indiquent les apports optimaux en nutriments dans le cadre d’une alimentation équilibrée, qui quand ils s’intègrent à un mode de vie globalement sain contribuent à un bon état de santé.

En effet, à la demande de la Commission européenne, L’EFSA a entamé un processus de mise à jour des valeurs de référence concernant les apports en nutriments et en énergie fixés en 1993 par le Comité scientifique de l’alimentation humaine. Au cours de ce travail, l’EFSA prend en considération les nouveaux éléments scientifiques et les recommandations récentes émises aux niveaux national et international. Ce travail permettra de fournir des recommandations nutritionnelles complètes, qui serviront notamment de support à l’étiquetage des produits alimentaires et aux décisions prises en Europe dans le domaine de la santé publique.

Retrouvez ces avis sur le site de l’EFSA. Pour plus d’information, contactez nos experts.

www.efsa.europa.eu

jeudi 1 septembre 2011

4 nouvelles chartes d’engagements volontaires de progrès nutritionnel signées depuis le début de l’année

Kiri, La vache Kiri, Uncle Ben’s et Thiriet se sont tous les quatre engagés à améliorer la qualité nutritionnelle de leurs produits en signant une charte d’engagement volontaire de progrès nutritionnel.

Kiri et La vache qui rit s’engagent à réduire la teneur moyenne en lipides de 5,7% et 5,6% respectivement, ainsi que celle en sodium de 5,8% et 6,4% respectivement. De plus, La vache qui rit s’engage à augmenter la teneur moyenne en calcium de 38%.
De même, Uncle Ben’s prévoit de diminuer la teneur moyenne en sodium de 18 à 24% pour ses produits Sauces et Express, respectivement.
Enfin, Thiriet s’engage à intégrer les critères nutritionnels dans ses exigences fournisseurs. De plus, Thiriet s’engage à diminuer de 60% en moyenne les teneurs en acides gras saturés, et à remplacer l’huile de palme par d’autres huiles plus faiblement saturées.

Alors qu’un nouveau programme national nutrition santé vient juste d’être lancé, le PNNS3 (2011-2015), il est encourageant d’observer de nouvelles entreprises s’engager.

Référence : www.sante.gouv.fr

mardi 12 juillet 2011

Les effets d’un régime hyperprotéiné sur la sensibilité à l’insuline

Une étude clinique randomisée a été menée chez 84 personnes en surpoids présentant des signes de syndrome métabolique, pour déterminer les effets d’un régime hyperprotéiné et d’un régime riche en fibre (céréales) sur la sensibilité à l’insuline et le risque de diabète, pendant 18 semaines.
Après 6 semaines d’étude, des tests de sensibilité à l’insuline ont été effectués chez les participants à l’aide d’un clamp euglycémique hyperinsulinémique. Les résultats ont montré que les personnes ayant consommé le régime riche en fibre avaient une sensibilité à l’insuline 25% plus élevée que les personnes sous régime hyperprotéiné. Ces effets se sont atténués après 18 semaines de régime probablement à cause du manque d’acceptabilité du régime hyperprotéiné.
Cette étude pose donc le problème des régimes trop riches en protéines qui peuvent diminuer la sensibilité à l’insuline et ainsi détériorer le statut des personnes souffrant déjà du syndrome métabolique. Les régimes diététiques doivent donc être soigneusement contrôlés pour éviter les effets néfastes sur l’organisme.

Références: Weickert MO, Roden M, Isken F, Hoffmann D, Nowotny P, Osterhoff M, Blaut M, Alpert C, Gögebakan O, Bumke-Vogt C, Mueller F, Machann J, Barber TM, Petzke KJ, Hierholzer J, Hornemann S, Kruse M, Illner AK, Kohl A, Loeffelholz CV, Arafat AM, Möhlig M, Pfeiffer AF. Effects of supplemented isoenergetic diets differing in cereal fiber and protein content on insulin sensitivity in overweight humans. Am J Clin Nutr. 2011;Jun 1.

mardi 12 avril 2011

Recommandations des Académies Nationales de Médecine et de Pharmacie sur les allégations nutritionnelles et de santé

Les Académies Nationales de Médecine (ANM) et de Pharmacie (ANP) ont récemment fait connaitre leurs positions concernant les allégations nutritionnelles et de santé. L’ANM et l’ANP recommandent notamment de renoncer à la notion de profils nutritionnels, de limiter le nombre de denrées alimentaires pouvant bénéficier d’une allégation, et de préciser sur l’étiquetage les avantages et les inconvénients des produits porteurs d’allégations. De plus, ces académies nationales recommandent de prendre en compte la pertinence, en termes de santé publique, de la mise sur le marché des produits alimentaires affichant des allégations, et de réaliser également une analyse bénéfice risque approfondie.

Référence : http://www.acadpharm.org

jeudi 17 février 2011

3 nouvelles chartes d’engagement de progrès nutritionnel signées

Trois nouveaux signataires se sont engagés à améliorer la qualité nutritionnelle de certains de leurs produits : la Fédération Française des Industriels Charcutiers, Transformateurs de viande (FICT), Kellog’s et Cereal Partners France (CPF).

Les engagements de Kellog’s France portent notamment sur une réduction de 9% en moyenne de la teneur en sucres simples, de 15,8% de la teneur en sodium, ainsi qu’une augmentation de 25,6% en moyenne de la teneur en fibre d’ici 2014 pour les céréales du petit déjeuner.

Le CPF s’est quant à lui engagé à réduire les teneurs en sucres simples de 12% en moyenne sans compensation par ajout de matière grasse et à augmenter la teneur en céréales complètes de 5% à 16% d’ici 2012, mais aussi à réduire les teneurs en sodium de 17% en moyenne pour les céréales pour le petit-déjeuner Nestlé.

Enfin, le FICT s’engage à développer une stratégie afin de réduire encore les teneurs en sodium (au moins 5%) et lipides (au moins 5%) des principales charcuteries produites en France en faisant évoluer leurs règles de composition pour aboutir à terme à la modification du code des usages. La profession s’engage également à promouvoir l’étiquetage nutritionnel.

 Référence : http://www.sante.gouv.fr/htm/pointsur/nutrition/actions8.htm