Nutraveris
Tuesday, May 22, 2012
Category : NEWS, CLAIMS | Author : experts | Comment : No Comments
Tags: , , , , ,

Regarding the new rejection of a health claim related to joint and glucosamine by EFSA, we can seriously wonder if a communication on articular benefits of a product will be possible at the end of the transition period conceded to dietary supplement manufacturers for ensuring the compliance of their communication tools with Regulation 1924/2006. This new EFSA opinion has once again rejected all the studies conducted in subjects with osteoarthritis, eliminating consequently the main part of the clinical studies substantiating the application. Therefore, except vitamin C, no ingredient will allow a communication on joint health from the end of 2012.
Nevertheless, thanks to the recent publication of the final and revised version of the guidance on the scientific requirements for health claims related to bone, joints, skin, and oral health, EFSA has specified several key points that will allow the design of new clinical studies potentially accepted by the experts for the substantiation of a health claim related to joint. Even if subjects with osteoarthritis are still rejected by EFSA, some very specific population subgroups may be accepted. Moreover, the experts have increased the number of questionnaire allowed for the assessment of articular discomfort and pain. Thanks to this final version of the guidance, new health claim applications related to joint may be conceivable in the future, but will need the setting up of new clinical studies in accordance with EFSA requirements.

For any question about joint, clinical study or health claim application, contact our experts.

Tuesday, March 27, 2012
Category : NEWS, CLAIMS, Non classé | Author : experts | Comment : No Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

ADRIA training in Paris 28 and 29/03/2012
Regulation applying to nutritional claims is becoming more complex in Europe and is changing. Nevertheless, health foods market is still increasing. Industrials have to find new solutions to innovate and communicate.
Cedric BOURGES, CEO at NUTRAVERIS, presents solutions to innovate in Europe, using ingredients with positive EFSA claims.
Interested by this training: contact@nutraveris.com
Thursday, January 26, 2012
Category : Non classé | Author : experts | Comment : [:en]1 Comment[:fr]1 commentaire »
Tags: , , , ,

The English authorities has analyzed whether the claim “Powerade ION4 hydrates better than water” in ad was misleading and could be substantiated.
Beverage Services Ltd, trading as Coca-Cola Great Britain (CCGB) believed they could fully substantiate the claim “hydrates better than water”. They explained that Powerade ION4 was an isotonic sports drink aimed at individuals taking part in intense physical exercise.
They provided some excerpts from 13 studies and reviews published between 1973 and 2010 which, they believed, demonstrated the effects of sodium, carbohydrates and taste on hydration, and therefore supported their claim that the product “hydrates better than water”.
They also provided letters from two experts in the field, together with the scientific dossier

The authorities considered the excerpts of the 13 studies provided by CCGB. All of these studies had been published in recognized journals and supported the arguments made by CCGB. Also, they considered the letters from the experts.
They considered that ad made it clear that the context in which Powerade ION4 hydrated better than water was during very energetic and sustained exertion.
Finally, the authorities considered that the claim “Powerade ION4 hydrates better than water” had been substantiated and concluded that the ads were not misleading.

Thursday, January 12, 2012
Category : NEWS, CLAIMS | Author : experts | Comment : No Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

The NDA Panel delivered an opinion on the scientific substantiation of a health claim related to diacylglycerol oil and reduction of body weight, submitted pursuant to Article 13.5 of Regulation 1924/2006. The food constituent, diacylglycerol (DAG) oil is sufficiently characterized in relation to the claimed effect. Furthermore EFSA defined that weight loss is a beneficial physiological effect for overweight subjects. Indeed, few ingredients received a positive opinion for their beneficial effect on body weight like glucomannan. But EFSA gave a negative opinion to DAG like hypo-caloric snacks (KOT products) for weight reduction last September.
However, the results from six randomized controlled trials with respect to the effect of DAG oil (as a replacement of TAG oils) on body weight are inconsistent and apparently unrelated to the DAG dose, study size or study duration, and the evidence provided in support of mechanisms by which DAG oil could exert the effect in humans is not convincing. One unpublished meta-analysis on the effects of DAG oil (as compared to TAG oils) on body weight in humans was also provided. The meta-analysis had potential sources of bias and did not provide additional informations for the scientific substantiation of the claim. The Panel concludes that a cause and effect relationship has not been established between the consumption of DAG oil and a reduction in body weight.
This opinion shows that more clinical studies are required to obtain a positive opinion from NDA panel related to ingredient effects on weight loss and the experts of Nutraveris can help you to put in place clinical study to obtain favorable claim.

References: EFSA Panel on Dietetic Products, Nutrition and Allergies (NDA); Scientific Opinion on the substantiation of a health claim related to diacylglycerol (DAG) oil and reduction of body weight pursuant to Article 13(5) of Regulation (EC) No 1924/2006. EFSA Journal 2011;9(12):2469. [17 pp].
EFSA Panel on Dietetic Products, Nutrition and Allergies (NDA); Scientific Opinion on the substantiation of a health claim related to “hypo-caloric snacks (KOT products)” and “contributes to reduce adipocyte size at the abdominal level in the context of a low-calorie diet” pursuant to Article 13(5) of Regulation (EC) No 1924/2006. EFSA Journal 2011;9(9):2381. [10 pp.].
EFSA Panel on Dietetic Products, Nutrition and Allergies (NDA); Scientific Opinion on the substantiation of health claims related to konjac mannan (glucomannan) and reduction of body weight (ID 854, 1556, 3725), reduction of post-prandial glycaemic responses (ID 1559), maintenance of normal blood glucose concentrations (ID 835, 3724), maintenance of normal (fasting) blood concentrations of triglycerides (ID 3217), maintenance of normal blood cholesterol concentrations (ID 3100, 3217), maintenance of normal bowel function (ID 834, 1557, 3901) and decreasing potentially pathogenic intestinal microorganisms (ID 1558) pursuant to Article 13(1) of Regulation (EC) No 1924/2006. EFSA Journal 2010;8(10):1798. [27 pp.].
Tuesday, August 30, 2011
Category : NEWS, CLAIMS, CONVICTIONS | Author : experts | Comment : No Comments
Tags: ,

In the 2nd batch, Melatonin could be used to claim on the alleviation of subjective feelings of jet lag with a 0.5 to 5 mg uptake. In the 3rd batch, Hydroxypropyl methylcellulose (HPMC) could be used to claim both on the reduction of post-prandial glycaemic responses and the maintenance of normal blood cholesterol concentrations with at least 5 g per day. In the 5th batch, Melatonin again, could be used to claim on the reduction of sleep onset latency with a 1 mg of melatonin uptake. However melatonin stays for a long time non authorized in food supplement and HPMC is only an additive authorized in vegetable capsules.
Since the last and 6th batch, monacolin K from red yeast rice can be used to claim on the maintenance of normal blood LDL- cholesterol concentrations. While 10 mg of monacolin K from fermented red yeast rice preparations should be consumed daily in order to obtain the claimed effect, this dosage is not possible in food supplement and 10 mg of monacolin correspond to a drug.

Then, while many allowed ingredients, interesting for industrials and the health nutrition market received negative opinion deeply damaging huge market in terms of employment and sales, one can be surprised by these anecdotal cases of accepted claims for unauthorized ingredients, therefore accepted but unusable claims !

Nutraveris
mardi 22 mai 2012
Catégorie : ACTUALITES, ALLEGATIONS | Auteur : experts | Commentaire : Aucun commentaire »
Tags: , , , , ,

Face au nouveau refus de l’EFSA concernant une demande d’allégation portant sur la glucosamine et le bien être articulaire, nous pouvons nous demander si une communication sur les bienfaits articulaires d’un produit sera possible à la fin de la période de transition allouée aux fabricants de compléments alimentaires pour mettre leurs outils de communication en conformité avec le règlement 1924/2006. En effet, l’EFSA a de nouveau rejeté l’ensemble des études menées chez des sujets présentant une ostéoarthrite, éliminant de fait la majorité des études cliniques soutenant la demande. Par conséquent, hormis la vitamine C, aucun ingrédient ne permettra d’alléger sur la santé articulaire en Europe dès la fin de l’année 2012.
Néanmoins, avec la publication récente de la version finale et révisée des guidances portant sur l’os, l’articulation, la peau et la santé buccale, l’EFSA a développé certains points critiques concernant les exigences d’une bonne étude clinique, ce qui pourrait permettre de mettre sur pied de nouvelles demandes d’allégations portant sur l’articulation pouvant être acceptées. Même si les sujets avec arthrite restent non valables pour l’EFSA, certains sous-groupes de la population, bien spécifique, pourraient être acceptés. De même, les experts ont élargit la palette des questionnaires pouvant être utilisés pour la mesure de la gêne et de la douleur articulaire. Cette version finale des guidances entrouvre à nouveau la porte aux allégations sur l’articulation, qui nécessiteront toutefois la mise au point de nouvelles études cliniques satisfaisant aux critères européens.

Pour toute question concernant cette application articulaire, étude clinique ou demande d’allégation, n’hésitez pas à contacter nos experts.

mardi 27 mars 2012
Catégorie : ACTUALITES, ALLEGATIONS, Non classé | Auteur : experts | Commentaire : Aucun commentaire »
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Intervention NUTRAVERIS – Formation ADRIA – 28 et 29/03/2012
La réglementation encadrant les allégations nutritionnelles et de santé se complexifie et évolue rapidement. Pourtant le marché des aliments santé et des compléments alimentaires présente encore de belles perspectives d’évolution. Les industriels doivent donc trouver des solutions pour innover et communiquer par d’autres moyens.
Cédric BOURGES, Directeur Général de NUTRAVERIS, intervient pour proposer des solutions pour innover en utilisant des ingrédients ayant reçu un avis positif.
Cette formation vous intéresse : contact@nutraveris.com
jeudi 26 janvier 2012
Catégorie : Non classé | Auteur : experts | Commentaire : [:en]1 Comment[:fr]1 commentaire »
Tags: , , , ,

Les autorités anglaises ont analysé si l’allégation «Powerade ION4 hydrate mieux que l’eau” utilisée dans la publicité était trompeuse et ne pouvait être justifiée.
Beverage Services Ltd, marque de Coca-Cola Grande-Bretagne (CCGB), pensaient qu’ils pouvaient parfaitement justifier la revendication «hydrate mieux que l’eau”. Ils ont notamment expliqué que Powerade ION4 était une boisson de sport isotonique destinée à des personnes participant à un exercice physique intense.
Ils ont fourni des extraits de 13 études et analyses publiées entre 1973 et 2010 qui, selon leur analyse, ont démontré les effets du sodium, des glucides et du goût sur l’hydratation, qui donc, soutiennent leur allégation sur le produit «hydrate mieux que l’eau”.
Ils ont également fourni des lettres de deux experts dans le domaine, avec un dossier scientifique

Les autorités anglaises ont considéré les extraits des 13 études fournies par CCGB. Toutes ces études ont été publiées dans des revues reconnues et soutiennent les arguments avancés par CCGB.
Ils ont également considéré les lettres des experts et ont estimé que l’annonce a clairement indiqué le contexte dans lequel « Powerade ION4 hydrate mieux que l’eau » peut être employé soit un effort très énergique et soutenu.

Finalement, les autorités anglaises ont considéré que l’allégation «Powerade ION4 hydrate mieux que l’eau” avait été justifiée et ont conclu que les publicités n’étaient pas trompeuses.

jeudi 12 janvier 2012
Catégorie : ACTUALITES, ALLEGATIONS | Auteur : experts | Commentaire : Aucun commentaire »
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Le panel NDA a rendu un avis sur la justification scientifique d’une allégation santé concernant l’huile à base de diacylglycérols (diglycérides) et la réduction du poids conformément à l’article 13.5 du règlement 1924/2006. L’huile de diacylglycérols (DAG) et les huiles végétales de composition similaire en acide gras contenant principalement des triacylglycérols (TGA >90%) que l’huile de DAG devrait remplacer dans le but d’obtenir l’effet revendiqué, sont suffisamment caractérisées. De plus, l’EFSA a défini que la perte de poids est un bénéfice physiologique pour les sujets en surpoids. En effet, quelques ingrédients ont reçu un avis positif pour leurs bénéfices sur le poids comme le glucomannan. Mais l’EFSA a donné un avis négatif au DAG comme les snacks hypo-calorique (produits KOT) pour la réduction de poids, en septembre dernier.
Cependant, les résultats de six essais cliniques randomisés, contrôlés, évaluant l’effet de l’huile de DAG (en remplacement des huiles de TAG) sur le poids corporel, ne sont pas concluants et sans rapport avec la dose de DAG, le nombre de sujets ou la durée de l’étude, et les preuves fournies pour expliquer le mécanisme d’action par lequel l’huile de DAG pourrait exercer son action chez l’homme ne sont pas convaincantes. Une méta-analyse non publiée sur les effets de l’huile de DAG (par rapport aux huiles de TAG) sur le poids chez l’homme a été prise en compte. Cette étude comportait des sources de biais et n’a pas permis d’apporter d’informations supplémentaires pour la justification scientifique de l’allégation. Le panel a conclu qu’une relation de case à effet n’a pas été établie entre la consommation d’huile à base de diacylglycérols et la perte de poids.
Cet avis montre que d’autres études cliniques sont nécessaires pour obtenir une allégation acceptée par le groupe scientifique NDA concernant les effets des ingrédients sur la perte de poids et les experts du cabinet de conseil Nutraveris peuvent vous aider à élaborer des protocoles d’étude clinique pour obtenir des allégations autorisées.

Références : EFSA Panel on Dietetic Products, Nutrition and Allergies (NDA); Scientific Opinion on the substantiation of a health claim related to diacylglycerol (DAG) oil and reduction of body weight pursuant to Article 13(5) of Regulation (EC) No 1924/2006. EFSA Journal 2011;9(12):2469. [17 pp].
EFSA Panel on Dietetic Products, Nutrition and Allergies (NDA); Scientific Opinion on the substantiation of a health claim related to “hypo-caloric snacks (KOT products)” and “contributes to reduce adipocyte size at the abdominal level in the context of a low-calorie diet” pursuant to Article 13(5) of Regulation (EC) No 1924/2006. EFSA Journal 2011;9(9):2381. [10 pp.].
EFSA Panel on Dietetic Products, Nutrition and Allergies (NDA); Scientific Opinion on the substantiation of health claims related to konjac mannan (glucomannan) and reduction of body weight (ID 854, 1556, 3725), reduction of post-prandial glycaemic responses (ID 1559), maintenance of normal blood glucose concentrations (ID 835, 3724), maintenance of normal (fasting) blood concentrations of triglycerides (ID 3217), maintenance of normal blood cholesterol concentrations (ID 3100, 3217), maintenance of normal bowel function (ID 834, 1557, 3901) and decreasing potentially pathogenic intestinal microorganisms (ID 1558) pursuant to Article 13(1) of Regulation (EC) No 1924/2006. EFSA Journal 2010;8(10):1798. [27 pp.].
mardi 30 août 2011
Catégorie : ACTUALITES, ALLEGATIONS, Convictions | Auteur : experts | Commentaire : Aucun commentaire »
Tags: ,

Dans le 2eme lot, l’EFSA reconnaît que la mélatonine peut être utilisée pour alléguer sur l’atténuation des sensations du décalage horaire avec une prise de 0,5 à 5 mg. Dans le 3eme lot, l’Hydroxypropyl methylcellulose (HPMC) peut être utilisé à la fois pour alléguer sur la réduction de la réponse glycémique post-prandiale et le maintien des concentrations normales en cholestérol sanguin avec une prise d’au moins 5 g par jour. Dans le 5eme lot, la mélatonine encore, peut être utilisée pour alléguer sur la réduction du temps d’endormissement avec une prise de 1 mg. Pour autant, la mélatonine est longtemps restée non autorisée en complément alimentaire et l’HPMC n’est qu’un additif autorisé dans les gélules végétales. Depuis le 6eme et dernier lot, la monacoline K de levure de riz rouge peut être utilisée pour alléguer sur le maintien des concentrations normales de LDL-cholestérol. Alors que 10 mg par jour de monacoline K de préparations de levure de riz rouge doivent être consommés pour obtenir l’effet allégué, une telle dose n’est pas possible en nutrition santé car 10 mg de monacoline est considéré comme étant un médicament.
Ainsi, alors que de nombreux ingrédients autorisés, intéressant pour le marché de la nutrition santé ont reçu des avis négatifs endommageant très profondément un marché important en terme d’emplois et de chiffres d’affaires, on peut être surpris par ces cas anecdotiques d’allégations autorisées pour des ingrédients qui ne le sont pas et qui sont donc certes acceptées mais inutilisables !