Nutraveris
Thursday, June 10, 2010
Category : NUTRILEGAL, food safety | Author : experts | Comment : No Comments
Tags: , , , , , ,

EFSA has published opinions on conjugated linoleic acid (CLA) as a novel ingredient, provided by Clarinol®, manufactured by Lipid Nutrition and Tonalin®, manufactured by Cognis for which the characteristics are presented in the following table.

Characteristics Clarinol® Tonalin®
CLA rate (%) 80 80
Ratio of mixture of cis-9,trans-11 and trans-10,cis-12 isomers 1:1 1:1
Recommended daily dose by the applicant 3,75 g of Clarinol®, corresponding to 3 g of CLA 4,5 g of Tonalin®, corresponding to 3,5 g of CLA
Food containing the ingredient Beverages, cereal products, food supplements, dairy products, dry weight beverages for slimming purposes Milk-, yogurt- and fruit-products

EFSA concluded that for these two ingredients, their use in people of normal weight, overweight or obese, but not type 2 diabetes, was safe for a maximum period of six months. Indeed, consumption of CLA did not appear to have adverse effects on insulin sensitivity, control of blood glucose or liver function and the observed effects on blood lipid parameters have no apparent impact on cardiovascular risk in these individuals for the duration of exposure. However, there is insufficient evidence to conclude that it is safe over a period of higher exposure and in subjects with type 2 diabetes.

The Clarinol® Tonalin® and can therefore be used as a source of CLA in accordance with their respective terms of use.

Reference: www.efsa.europa.eu

Thursday, May 20, 2010
Category : CONVICTIONS, INGREDIENTS | Author : experts | Comment : No Comments
Tags: , , , , , ,

While some studies have revealed an interesting effect of conjugated linoleic acid for the slimming market segment, showing a reduction of body fat and preserving lean body mass, other studies show a least interesting face of CLA. Thus, this new study of Kennedy et al., supports previous results showing that CLA induces inflammation and insulin resistance in adipocytes.

Reference: Kennedy A, Martinez K, Chung S, Lapoint K, Hopkins R, Schmidt SF, Anderson K, Mandrup S, McIntosh M. Inflammation and insulin resistance induced by trans-10, cis-12 conjugated linoleic acid are dependent on intracellular calcium levels in primary cultures of human adipocytes. J Lipid Res. 2010 Feb 14

Nutraveris
jeudi 10 juin 2010
Catégorie : Nutrilégal, Sécurité sanitaire | Auteur : experts | Commentaire : Aucun commentaire »
Tags: , , , , , ,

L’EFSA a émis un avis sur l’acide linoléique conjugué en tant que nouvel ingrédient, apporté par le Clarinol®, fabriqué par Lipid Nutrition, ainsi que par le Tonalin®, fabriqué par Cognis et dont les caractéristiques sont présentées dans le tableau ci-après.

Caractéristiques Clarinol® Tonalin®
Teneur en CLA (%) 80 80
Ratio du mélange des isomères cis-9,trans-11 et trans-10,cis-12 1:1 1:1
Dose journalière recommandée par le fabriquant 3,75 g de Clarinol®, soit 3 g de CLA 4,5 g de Tonalin®, soit 3,5 g de CLA
Matrices alimentaires pouvant intégrer l’ingrédient Boissons, produits céréaliers, compléments alimentaires, produits laitiers, poudre déshydratée pour boissons minceur Produits laitiers, produits type yaourt, et produits type fruit

L’EFSA a conclu pour ces 2 ingrédients que leur utilisation, chez des personnes de poids normal, en surpoids ou obèses, mais non sujettes au diabète de type 2, était sûre pour une durée maximum de 6 mois. En effet, la consommation de CLA ne semble pas avoir d’effets néfaste sur la sensibilité à l’insuline, le contrôle de la glycémie ou la fonction hépatique et les effets observés sur les paramètres sanguins lipidiques n’ont apparemment pas d’impact sur le risque cardiovasculaire chez ces personnes pour cette durée d’exposition. En revanche, il n’y a pas suffisamment d’éléments pour conclure à sa sécurité d’emploi sur une durée d’exposition plus importante et chez des sujets diabètiques de type 2.

Le Clarinol® et le Tonalin® peuvent donc être utilisés comme source de CLA dans le respect de leurs conditions d’utilisation respectives.

Référence : www.efsa.europa.eu

jeudi 20 mai 2010
Catégorie : Convictions, Ingrédients | Auteur : experts | Commentaire : Aucun commentaire »
Tags: , , , , , ,

Alors que certaines études ont mis en évidence un effet intéressant de l’acide linoléique conjugué pour le segment de la minceur, montrant une réduction de la masse grasse et préservant la masse maigre, d‘autres études montrent une facette du CLA moins intéressante. Ainsi, cette nouvelle étude de Kennedy et al., supporte des résultats précédents montrant que le CLA induit une inflammation et une insulino-résistance dans les adipocytes.

Référence : Kennedy A, Martinez K, Chung S, Lapoint K, Hopkins R, Schmidt SF, Anderson K, Mandrup S, McIntosh M. Inflammation and insulin resistance induced by trans-10, cis-12 conjugated linoleic acid are dependent on intracellular calcium levels in primary cultures of human adipocytes. J Lipid Res. 2010 Feb 14